Skip to: Skip to main navigation | Skip to MyBUFFSTATE | Skip to main content | Skip to contact information
2016 Student Award Recipients

There are many other scholarship opportunities available for Buffalo State students. The Criminal Justice Department offers three scholarships and two awards to its students.

The Scott W. Phillips and Mary C. Carroll Criminal Justice Scholarship

Scott W. Phillips started his career in the criminal justice field as a police officer in Houston, TX. After spending nearly three years in Texas, he returned to Western New York and completed an associate’s degree in criminal justice at Niagara County Community College. While working full-time and taking courses part-time, he received a bachelor’s degree in legal studies from the University at Buffalo and then went on to earn a master’s degree in criminal justice from Buffalo State.

Scott worked for a year at the United States Justice department’s Community Oriented Policing Services (COPS) Office in Washington, DC. He then entered the Ph.D. program at SUNY Albany. He worked for two years at Central Connecticut State University teaching courses in criminal justice before returning to Buffalo State as a professor. While at Buffalo State he developed the intelligence analysis minor, was a visiting scholar at the FBI National Academy in Quantico, VA, and published multiple journal articles and book chapters.

Mary C. Carroll completed a bachelor’s degree in biology at the University at Buffalo, but had a great appreciation for the field of criminal justice and public policy. She was with Scott during his time in Houston and Washington, DC; she reviewed many of his manuscripts and was a source of ideas and comments for his research.

Dr. Phillips and Ms. Carroll established this scholarship to enable students to pursue careers in the field of criminal justice.


  •  Be enrolled full-time at Buffalo State;
  •  Be a student with a declared major in the Criminal Justice Department;
  •  Have an overall GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Financial need may be taken into consideration.


Sheriff Thomas F. Higgins Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship is presented every other year to a qualified criminal justice junior or senior at Buffalo State. This scholarship alternates yearly between the History and Criminal Justice departments. The student must possess a 3.5 grade point average or higher. Those interested in being considered for the award should contact Shashi Gayadeen, assistant professor.

Morgan Graduate Award

This award honors the top criminal justice master's student at Buffalo State who demonstrates the spirit of integrity, academic excellence, and community service. It is named after the founder and the first chair of the Criminal Justice Department, Edward Morgan.

Donald J. Griffin Memorial Award

The Donald J. Griffin Memorial Award is dedicated in memory of Donald J. Griffin, who served as a police officer for the City of Buffalo and was a graduate of the criminal justice program at Buffalo State. After his unexpected death in 1975, Griffin's family endowed an award in his memory which is now used to reward excellence in the study of criminal justice at Buffalo State. The scholarship is awarded on a competitive basis to a graduating student who has achieved a 3.25 overall cumulative grade point average in addition to a 3.00 grade point average in the criminal justice major. Those interested in being considered for the award should contact Shashi Gayadeen.

Judges and Police Conference of Erie County, New York Scholarship Program

The Judges and Police Conference of Erie County sponsors this scholarship. The goal is to assist a deserving student in the furtherance of his or her education in the criminal justice field. The scholarship is made available to residents of Erie County, New York, who meet the established guidelines.

Criminal Justice

Buffalo State •  1300 Elmwood Ave  •  Classroom Building C114
Buffalo, NY 14222  •  Phone: (716) 878-4517 •  Fax: (716) 878-3240